Tree of Life – May Article

Image
During this Lenten season, Tree of Life took part in a 40 day challenge. This challenge was based around a curriculum written by Rick Warren, who is the pastor and founder of Saddleback Church in southern California. Our challenge was to spend 40 days in the Word. We were not to spend 40 days in any word, but more specifically, God’s Word. During these 40 days we were encouraged to participate in a small group and meet once a week to discuss different methods for studying the Bible. I must admit right off the bat, I skipped days. I would imagine members of my group did as well. Also it is comical to me we call it 40 days when in reality it is more like 47 days, but who is really counting.  
 
I offered to lead a small group under one condition – I get to pick the location. As a 23 year old it should not surprise you that I decided to do a pub crawl. I mean what Lutheran wouldn’t want to sit around with a beer (or a pretty margarita as I sometimes like to have) and talk about the Word of God. Maybe this offends some people, but I see no problem with it. A theology on tap ministry is becoming more and more popular, and something I would be eager to start here at Tree of Life. We would once a week gather at a local pub, drink, and study the Word of God.
 
However, I want to continue talking about my experiences with this 40 day challenge, and more specifically the small group portion of it. I am a huge fan of small groups. I believe they are vital to a congregation once you reach a certain size (which Tree of Life is close to reaching.) There are many benefits of a small group: accountability, reliability, spiritual growth, friendships, and even folks to be there when you’re sick or hurt. This really takes a huge weight off the shoulders of a pastor. Rather than expecting her or him to make every house and hospital call, how beautiful is it if the entire small group comes to show their love and support.
 
During our small group time, one of the members asked me a question, “Do these help you at all?” Confused by the question I asked them to say more. They went on to ask if being a part of these small groups do anything for me. Do I get spiritually filled or do I gain knowledge from these experiences? You bet I do! Meeting with my small group throughout Lent gave me a whole new perspective on our congregation. My small group was filled with wise, wise people who really opened my eyes. On PalmSunday, our last small group meeting, I was at the bottom of the tank as far as energy goes. We had just held our youth garage sale, combined with setting up prayer path, combined with a full week of work, combined with lifting furniture all week, had really done a number on me. I had nothing left to give. I had zero motivation to go to small group. Yet something dragged me to Margaritas and Peppers for our last meeting. As I sat there drinking my fruity raspberry margarita, listening to the conversation at the table, I couldn’t help but feel grateful and foolish at the same time. I felt foolish for even having the thought of missing out on the conversation. I also felt grateful for the people around the table. I did not have to do a lot of talking that night. I was able to bring up a topic, or read one of Rick Warren’s reasons for memorizing scripture (which we disagreed with most), and my small group took over. The words spoken by them were filled with wise thoughts, filled with inspiration, and filled with a passion for God.
 
I was reminded of why I have such a passion for small groups and their purpose. I pray that many of the small groups started during Lent will continue. Ours is going to a once a month meeting with no curriculum. We are going to gather, drink, and talk about God and let the Holy Spirit bring the topics to our mind and let us go from there. I pray that you will also take a chance with small groups. If this is something you might be interested in, talk to me and let’s find a way to get you plugged in.God’s Peace,

Ryan Dockery

Leave a comment